Status Update

October 17, 2009 at 4:13 am 9 comments

I’ve been rather busy moving (and sick) the past month or so, so I didn’t get  as much work done as I’d like.  I’m just about finished moving though, and I’ve started putting more time into BMesh again.

BMesh is very close to being testable; I’m currently merging recent changes from 2.5 into the BMesh branch before tying up some loose ends and putting out a call for testing.

I did manage to find time to rewrite the vkey split tool; it now behaves much the same as the edge split modifier, making it a lot more useful.   The old tool was very hackish, and getting the new one to work well turned out to be quite a bit of effort, but it’s almost working now (it still has a few cases that need attention).  The new tool is much more usable then the old one; it can handle many more situations.

Once I’ve gotten the merge done and vkey finished up, I’ll post a call for testing on the blog.  I’ll also provide links to a special BMesh bug tracker, which will be hosted on Nathan Letwory’s new redmine installation.

I’m hoping to get BMesh into the main development trunk sometime early next year; when this happens will depend a lot on future sculpt/multires developments (and how difficult it’ll be to port them to BMesh).  One of the purposes of Durian is to develop a fast sculpting/multires system, so BMesh cannot be merged into trunk until that gets going (and is ported over to BMesh).

Thanks to everyone who have donated; it’s very, very helpful.  It allows me to spend considerably more time on BMesh then I’d be able to otherwise, and is responsible for the success of this project.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Demo Video Call for Testing

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Paweł Łyczkowski  |  October 17, 2009 at 9:51 am

    Count me in for testing. So official BMesh will not be available until next year? That’s a pity, I thought it will be a feature of Blender 2.5… Anyway, it’s the feature I’m most waiting for.

    Reply
  • 2. Massimiliano Puliero  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:33 am

    Ok we will wait the development of durian for see the bmesh on blender, no problem for now 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. ink  |  October 18, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    Really excited about this. Thanks for the update. I’ve been checking graphicall.org almost everyday to see if there’s a new build available.

    Keep it up man.

    Reply
  • 4. eclectiel  |  October 21, 2009 at 11:11 am

    Is very exciting to see the progress on Bmesh and Multires, and see how they’ve matured already.

    Keep it up!

    Reply
  • 5. oruchuban  |  October 26, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Can’t build this branch from the SVN, so sad.
    Bmesh is the most desired feature in new Blender for me, thank you for work.

    Reply
    • 6. joeedh  |  October 26, 2009 at 5:15 pm

      I’m working on it. I’m actually trying to finish stuff up for testing; getting it to build for other people (obviously 🙂 ), but also getting shape keys to work, finish last little work on the stupid vkey tool, etc.

      Reply
  • 7. AlphaSite  |  November 1, 2009 at 9:39 am

    Nice to see it almost ready to get tested.

    One question, any chance of an inset tool?

    Either way good job,
    AlphaSite

    Reply
    • 8. joeedh  |  November 2, 2009 at 3:28 am

      Yes there’s a good chance of an inset tool. 🙂

      Reply
  • 9. Justin  |  November 4, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Any “mainstream” news as of late…I have seen commits etc…, but anything more public friendly worth sharing?…I still say Bmesh is underrated….oh well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


