Donation credits

December 8, 2009 at 1:19 pm 11 comments

Someone recently reminded me about this in email.  Originally I planned to give donators credit on this site.  My plan was to launch this along with a system of incentives, whereby some random subset of donators would receive free bmesh t-shirts.   I wanted to do this all at once, but I ran into problems with the tshirt manufacturer I chose that I’ve not yet resolved.

In hindsight, I suppose I got too obsessed with the gimmicky aspect of my plan and forgot about the important part.  This is something I intend to rectify.  Look for an official donators credit list in the next day or two.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Development Update Sculpt/Multires

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joeedh  |  December 8, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    BTW, if whoever provided me with the blog logo could pipe up, that’d be great. I can’t remember if it was through email or comments here on the blog, but you definitely deserve to be credited for it (and I apologize for not thinking of crediting you earlier, yeek).

    Reply
  • 2. Lamoot  |  December 8, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    It’s the 6th comment on your “about” page 🙂

    Reply
  • 3. pillum  |  December 14, 2009 at 8:08 pm

    with Bmesh – Windows – 24415 i get this rendering:

    with this wireframe model:

    even without the edges in the model (a pure ngon model) the lines are still there and shading smooth looks bad too

    Reply
  • 4. pillum  |  December 14, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    and with another material is looks so : http://img5.imagebanana.com/img/2llvbcqt/Unbenannt3.png

    Reply
    • 5. joeedh  |  December 18, 2009 at 2:54 am

      Are all your ngons flat? Also, are you using edge split?

      Ngon shading is kindof tricky; it only works in a few cases (and is something I don’t have time to fix yet, especially as the research for solving this problem is still somewhat new).

      In general, ngons are only useful if they’re flat-shaded and planar, or if you’re using subsurf. Supporting more use cases is something I want to do, but will involve a bit of research and development (basically involves tessellating then subdividing the mesh, and interpolating data from the original topology using an interpolation method that works with ngons).

      Reply
      • 6. pillum  |  December 18, 2009 at 2:14 pm

        what means flat?
        I used loop and knife cut and doesn’t even know what edge split is 🙂

        that my blend file if you will need it: http://ul.to/m3gq1s

      • 7. joeedh  |  December 18, 2009 at 9:20 pm

        all the vertices in a face are in a flat plane.

      • 8. pillum  |  December 19, 2009 at 12:33 am

        all the vertices in a face are in a flat plane. (you mean in a triangle??)

      • 9. joeedh  |  December 19, 2009 at 2:51 am

        Go to normal transform mode, select a face and press z-z to scale along the face normal. If the vertices do not move, it’s planar, if they do it’s not.

      • 10. Pillum  |  December 30, 2009 at 2:57 am

        I nearly tried every face of my model and none of them moved, when tried to scale them along their face normal..

      • 11. theLichKing  |  January 7, 2010 at 3:15 pm

        can you post the .blend file on pasteall.org?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


