Status Update And Possible Sprint

August 23, 2010 at 2:47 am 40 comments

BMesh is nearing completion.  I’m currently doing another merge, and I’m aiming to do an intense testing sprint in the near future.  My life is rather hectic at the moment, but hopefully I will get bmesh production-ready as soon as possible.

I’m currently in northern Utah for health tests.   I’m planning to head back to northern California (Sacramento) in a few weeks.  If anyone knows of competent blender modelers  in travel distance of Sacramento, I’d appreciate very much if they could leaves comments or email me so I can start making contacts (don’t post email addresses though).

I’m not sure of an exact time frame for completion (some unpredictable things came up) but hopefully bmesh can be merged into trunk sooner rather then later.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Blender Institute Blender Conference: Need Donations!

40 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Andreas Galster  |  August 23, 2010 at 7:42 am

    Glad to hear that. Hope you’ll be healthy in the future. Don’t let yourself frustrate by the “Bmesh is dead”-people ;).

    Reply
  • 2. Robert Yodlowski  |  August 23, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Although I am in Portland, OR, I am in the same time zone as you. If I can help you by testing bmesh let me know.

    I like modeling old buildings and machines so my use of bmesh might be a bit different from most people who do character modeling.

    …Bob

    Reply
  • 3. dddjef  |  August 24, 2010 at 6:34 am

    It’s really great if you can work on this so soon after Durian. Thanks and keep on your good work

    Reply
  • 4. Max Puliero  |  August 24, 2010 at 10:55 am

    yuppy!

    thanyou very much!! take care your health !!

    Reply
  • 5. DanielWray  |  August 24, 2010 at 12:54 pm

    Hey joeedh,

    I live in the United Kingdom, but I believe I am a fairly competent modeler in Blender, I’ve worked on several projects, commercial and just for fun work, I’d be very happy to help you test Bmesh, report bugs, and if needed feature improvement etcetera.

    CG portfolio;
    http://danielwray.cgsociety.org/gallery/

    P.s. I hope the health tests go OK man.

    Reply
  • 6. Andrea  |  August 24, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    Great news Joe, thanks for the update and good luck with your health!

    Reply
  • 7. Martin Lindelöf  |  August 24, 2010 at 3:32 pm

    I hope it goes well in Utah! and why do you have to travel that far for health test, is it because of the cost at sacramento’s hospitals.

    Your work is very appreciated.

    Reply
  • 8. Ejnaren  |  August 24, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Good luck and thanks.

    Reply
  • 9. nrk  |  August 24, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I live in Portland, OR, but grew up in Redding, CA which is about 2.5 hours north by car, and visit there three or so times/year. Probably too far away to be of use, I like to think I’m ok at modelling. I have been giving my my brother lessons who lives in Redding and is starting a blender course for grade schoolers there in a week, but he’s just learning with the students, probably not much help either, but thought I’d mention it. Hope you get well soon. Thanks again for all your hard work.

    Reply
  • 10. TSA  |  August 25, 2010 at 5:01 am

    Sounds good that you’re on the case!

    But, as has probably been said many times, please put your health first. Be safe.

    Reply
  • 11. Wehrdo  |  August 25, 2010 at 2:52 pm

    That first sentence is music to my ears. “BMesh is nearing completion” I am very excited for this project. Take care of yourself and keep up the good work!

    Reply
  • 12. JP  |  August 25, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    hey i don’t know your email address…so i pasted my email address @ http://www.pasteall.org/15220 … once you look @ it please delete it…Thanks…(Please Don’t Abuse It Everyone Here 🙂 )
    Model Example:-
    http://plusminus3d.wordpress.com/
    I’m up for testing….

    Thanks

    Reply
    • 13. JP  |  August 25, 2010 at 3:41 pm

      btw, oh sorry you need testers in near distance…im not in close distance but if you still want me to test it…i’m still up for it…

      Reply
  • 14. Andreas  |  August 25, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    Good luck with your health.

    Is this going to bring a bevel tool back to Blender? The modifier doesnt do the trick, most modellers only need to bevel a few edges at a time, not all of them at once. 😛

    And also could we have a better cut tool than 2.49 had? Like being able to cut from one vertex to another.

    Reply
    • 15. joeedh  |  September 3, 2010 at 6:23 pm

      Expect bevel, yes, and also a better knife tool.

      Reply
  • 16. Amar Ashworth  |  August 26, 2010 at 12:30 am

    I use Blender for a ton of different things from rendered production pieces for my fine art, to fully edited shorts, and I love it! that being sead, B-mesh will bring new flexibility and more sensible modelling procedures, that are needed to make blender a more functional experience.

    I live in Eugene Oregon and would love to help test B-mesh builds for you.

    Hope your health is holding up.

    Reply
  • 17. simon  |  August 26, 2010 at 6:42 am

    Wonderful news on BMesh, less wonderful about your health issues. Good luck with that.

    Reply
  • 18. konan  |  August 26, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Hopefully the finished B-mesh good compare with editable poly tool in 3ds Max …. ^^ I waiting for the coming back of edge bevel tool like in Blender 2.42 and improvement in auto edge direction on quads….

    regards ^^

    Reply
  • 19. Tom  |  August 26, 2010 at 9:39 am

    Hi, hope you are well and your work on B-Mesh is appreciated and works out. Just noticed that you have misspelled sponsors for your link at the top. Hope you don’t mind me pointing it out, its rather prominent…

    Reply
  • 20. Mike  |  August 26, 2010 at 1:04 pm

    Yeah good luck with your health!

    Reply
  • 21. Jack  |  August 26, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Not sure why the request for travel distance to Sacramento, but if it is to watch modelers work, I would be happy to do a screen recording which could track all keystrokes and send it to you, if that is of any help. Ironically, I live in northern Utah.

    Reply
  • 22. 4museman  |  August 26, 2010 at 6:43 pm

    Hi, Joe!

    I’m really confident, that BMesh can greatly improve modeling experience in Blender.

    Presently I sometimes need to put my models to Wings or Lightwave just to make some proper extrudes, insets, bevels or so. But there are several things, that I don’t like neither in Lightwave and Wings. One of them is lack of 3D cursor (:)), another is unlimited mesh structure in LW (it allows you to create some really terrible things in geometry, which you have to find out later and correct) and limited mesh structure in Wings (only closed meshes), and many many other drawbacks, that Blender doesn’t have or has different approach, mostly closer to my nature.

    If Blender have BMesh advantages (and tools based on that technology), I’m sure, that it can “cure” most of the modeling weaknesses, that Blender currently have (even if a lot of people seems to underestimate that).

    So I’m big fan of BMesh, and I’ll probably start using after-2.49 series after BMesh will be inside (mainly because the modeling tools are not even the same as in 2.49 yet).

    I also wanted to ask you – are you working on BMesh, just localy now, or in another branch than “…/bf-blender/branches/bmesh”? Because I had updated your branch for a few months now and there are no new commits. I’d like to test things! 😉

    PS: Donation for you just sent! 🙂

    OPS: And watch your health too! Of course, it must be always on first place!

    Reply
    • 23. joeedh  |  September 3, 2010 at 6:21 pm

      It’s in the branch, yes. There’s been some commits! But things have been hectic, yes (ger). Expect more in the future!

      Reply
  • 24. claas  |  August 27, 2010 at 1:44 am

    hey PM me on blenderartist or send me an email.

    I would consider myself professional in modeling
    and would like to help out with testing Bmesh.

    Claas

    Reply
  • 25. Astapov  |  August 27, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    Bittersweet news but Im glad youre getting back to Bmesh.

    You will be recorded as a hero in blender’s history :). (Along with the other developers who were on this project)

    Best of luck with everything. Il drink to your health next chance i get.

    Reply
  • 26. ink  |  September 1, 2010 at 12:08 pm

    AWESOME!!!

    I’m not located in the States right now, but if you need a modeler, just let me know. I’ve been using Blender since before there was “undo” and it could fit on a floppy. 😉

    Reply
  • 27. collad  |  September 2, 2010 at 5:03 pm

    Ahhhh, finally. I wish you all well.
    But the hiring of you for rendering stuff was still one of the most stupidest things the Blender Foundation could do.
    They should have hired you for B-Mesh instead.

    AFTER you have done your work with bmesh all the other programmers can finally start to work on their stuff.
    Like the guy who did an Boolean operator collection which is even far better than the 3DS Max and Maya stuff (It’s available as free plugins for both modelers – and would already be for Blender if BMeshs were integrated).

    But nooooo…”Must shiny pictures have rendered we…”
    Arghhhh.

    Reply
  • 28. boogi  |  September 3, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    somehow i doubt that bmesh will ever make it into blender. there will always be some obstacles that prevent it from being merged in.

    Reply
  • 29. Garrett  |  September 6, 2010 at 8:25 am

    Hey this is gdawg from graphicall.org. I would like to upload your branch to graphicall but for the life of me i cant build it:(
    This is what i get from scons:
    Compiling ==> ‘sound.c’
    source/blender/blenkernel/intern/sound.c: In function ‘sound_start_play_scene’:
    source/blender/blenkernel/intern/sound.c:386: error: too many arguments to function ‘AUD_setLoop’
    scons: *** [/home/yo64/Desktop/bmesh/build/linux2/source/blender/blenkernel/intern/sound.o] Error 1
    scons: building terminated because of errors.
    linux mint 9 64bit, help would be cool:)

    Reply
  • 30. 007Appleseed  |  September 6, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    Hiya joeedh

    Sorry to hear about the health problems. I plan to make a donation once the tax office refund what they owe me here in good Old Blighty. Not that I’m much of a modeller [i.e. read newbie], I would like to offer my admittedly limited services to the cause.

    Good Health and Happy Blending

    Reply
  • 31. pyrit  |  September 9, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    @ boogi
    go home, the worlds bad

    Reply
  • 32. Mike.Mac  |  September 13, 2010 at 5:17 pm

    Thanks for all your hard work! Myself and all of my colleagues and Blender friends really appreciate your effort.

    Reply
  • 33. nrk  |  September 13, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    There is no such thing as negativity in open source development. If I spend one hour doing work on open source software it is one hour of pure positive goodness that wasn’t before. If I don’t do anything life is the same as it was. To think differently is to allow a false reality and downcast pessism to rule my life. Joe is a hero… period. I am sorry for you boogi, I hope others in your life do not suffer because of your outlook.

    Reply
  • 34. Andrea  |  September 14, 2010 at 9:28 am

    Is there a newer build to test than Fliciss’ one?
    In that versione I’m unable to add a simple mesh circle…
    Also, it would be nice to know what are the differences from the Blender trunk, to better focus our tests.
    Thanks!

    Reply
  • 35. Silence  |  September 14, 2010 at 10:02 am

    Is there a bug tracker available ?

    Reply
  • 36. The Fatsnacker  |  September 25, 2010 at 6:32 am

    Any news on an update, ive just noticed updates to the bmesh tree.

    regards

    TFS

    Reply
  • 37. Niko40  |  September 26, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Seems to be a nice system and would certainly fix a few problems I have. 😀

    I tried relatively recent one from graphicall and saw 2 things that I’d like to point out. Is there a bug tracker anywhere any more?

    In a lack of a better place to tell this, I’ll just do it in here. I know the old one but it doesn’t seem to be working.

    So the first one is definitely a bug, try use mirror modifier with mirror object.

    ((Example: Make a empty on world centre, make an icosphere with at least 4 subdivisions, move the object off from the world centre, make a mirror modifier, use empty as mirror object, go into edit mode, select all and move the vertices around…))

    The other is the speed… I hope you have some ideas about how to optimize… It shows especially in subsurf modelling. I have a character that has about 2000 vertices and 2 levels of subsurf. In the trunk, no problem, in Bmesh it’s far from enjoyable. I can work on one level subdivs but it’s still slower than two levels in the trunk.

    The speed seems to be the biggest issue here, the tools can be converted allright.

    But other than that, nice work so far.

    Reply
  • 38. brian  |  September 27, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    hi Joe

    i’ve made a small video with audio demonstrating a small issue with the new knife tool in blender revision 32128 which will sometimes cause a crash

    here is the link to the video you may view or download

    http://invertednormal.net/testVideos/bmeshKnifeTool00.mov

    Reply
  • 39. fajriyansah  |  December 11, 2010 at 4:50 am

    success for you

    Reply
  • 40. MikeJ  |  April 13, 2011 at 1:33 am

    Hi Joe,

    Just found this blog and am very excited about BMesh and your looooong efforts at bringing it to Blender. I don’t know whether you are still looking for local testers or not, but I live in Santa Cruz and would love to help. Not a great modeler but have been using Blender for a couple of years now and know my way around fairly well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


