Siggraph Fundraising Drive

July 28, 2011 at 12:41 am 17 comments

I’m launching a last-minute fundraising drive for attending Siggraph.  My parents were going to contribute, but my grandmother had a heart attack, and we need to put her into an assisted living facility.  Money is going to be tighter, and donations or e-shop purchases would help a lot.

I’m setting a $1000 USD target.  If we reach half of that, I’ll commit to doing a talk at Siggraph.   At two-thirds I’ll commit to a video-taped ngon modelling demonstration, and at 1000% I’ll commit to daily bmesh demos.  Any other suggestions for ways I can “pay back” would be appreciated.

The donation deadline for fulfilling the commitments would be the start of siggraph (late donations are still helpful), but I’m going to need at least the first half fairly soon if I’m to go at all.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I’m still alive Update

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mangagothic  |  July 28, 2011 at 3:55 am

    I’ll see what I can do.Maybe if I push my production up, be burning the midnight oil and I got my own problems, but if I’ll see to if I make anything I’ll send you a percentage of what I can spare

    Reply
  • 2. Macro Man Jr.  |  July 28, 2011 at 9:22 am

    There you go, buddy! Right now, I’m caught between moving to a new apartment, buying new furniture, getting a new car, and FINALLY getting a powerful new computer. My wallet’s depressed right now, so I just gave you what little was lingering in my PayPal account at the moment. But expect some more from me later, dude!

    I hope you and the team get full support for this! I think you guys are doing a wonderful thing with Bmesh development, and I think a SIGGRAPH presentation would be a helpful for gaining more attention and support for the Bmesh project. Good luck!

    Reply
    • 3. joeedh  |  July 28, 2011 at 9:41 am

      thanks!

      Reply
  • 4. Bernard  |  July 28, 2011 at 10:43 am

    Donated a little amount but I wish you the best for your grandma before thanking you for your hard work 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Paulius Mscichauskas  |  July 29, 2011 at 6:41 am

    Just a question:
    Will Bmesh be merged for the first release of 2.6? Or is it unlikely?

    Reply
  • 6. An1x  |  July 29, 2011 at 5:31 pm

    The probability will go up when you donate…

    Reply
  • 7. Billrey  |  August 1, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Things you could do to pay back? You could finish Bmesh. Make it stable, fast, and feature complete. Far more useful than a bunch of videos. Sorry, but you asked!

    Reply
    • 8. Macro Man Jr.  |  August 1, 2011 at 5:32 pm

      Patience, dude.

      Reply
    • 9. Angapolk  |  August 2, 2011 at 7:17 pm

      Hes not the person to yell at, Its the foundation who refuses to give even an ounce of assistance.

      Reply
    • 10. Kelle  |  August 10, 2011 at 6:25 am

      He’s got a point.

      Reply
  • 11. Patience  |  August 1, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    I donated a small amount. I hope you attend the Siggraph.

    Reply
  • 12. jcue35  |  August 2, 2011 at 2:02 am

    Thanks for all your hard work

    Reply
  • 13. Brad  |  August 3, 2011 at 2:17 am

    I gladly gave! Thanks for the work, and take care of yourself.

    Reply
  • 14. Brad  |  August 3, 2011 at 2:25 am

    If you don’t meet your goal by SIGGRAPH, I’ll set you up with the difference. I may not be able to code Blender, but I can throw some clams to the brave guys and girls that do. I look at it this way. The money doesn’t go over to those douches at AD anymore…

    (Blender development would be SO STOKED if I ever won the lottery!)

    Reply
  • 15. Nicholas Rishel  |  August 11, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    I gave not too long ago, would give more had I the expendable income.

    I was hoping you might be able to answer this, when bmesh is complete, will it be able to handle holes in a single face? I was trying to make a demonstration of bmesh by modeling the Blender logo with each color being an independent face and am currently unable to dissolve into a donut shape.

    Reply
  • 16. whateverguys  |  August 14, 2011 at 3:13 am

    You sir, should be more concerned about spending that money on Bmesh development. You seem to be well enough to go to these big meets but are too sick to finish what you promised you would years later down the track. I am sorry for your grandmother, sorry that you are sick frequently, but when are the sob stories going to stop and Bmesh actually get finished? Since your last blog, I thought I would give you benefit of doubt that you may actually get things moving again.

    Going to Siggraph sir IS NOT PRIORITY!. Making videos daily IS NOT PRIORITY!. Giving talks IS NOT PRIORITY!. Bmesh is YOUR PRIORITY. I am sorry if this sounds harsh but when is all this BS going to end?

    Reply
  • 17. Fable Fox  |  August 16, 2011 at 1:47 pm

    I’m sure you will repay in the long run by fixing any bug and improve it here and there on this module (BMesh) per case basis as an active developer (although not paid nor full time).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


